Lupus in the Spring

“April showers bring May flowers,” we’ve all heard this saying, I’m assuming. Today is the first day of spring (well, concerning the weather at least) and I am SO ready for it. I am done with the cold weather and what felt like constant snow. Enough with the storms and bring on the warmer weather! I’m ready for my pink pastel jeans and light spring jackets!

I have always felt like spring is a time of rebirth and new life. The flowers begin to pop, the color of the trees comes back and everything smells fresh. I even heard birds outside my window this morning. There are joggers along the road and people planting in the community garden.

I finally feel like I can take a breath of fresh air.

But, with that fresh air comes a burst of pollen. Allergies! I don’t even have allergies- I don’t sneeze, or cough. My eyes don’t water or itch but every April for about a week I get the sniffles. I’m just waiting for it to happen.

With most things, I have to be careful with medicine I take. Who has allergies and Lupus and what do you do?

More importantly, how do you react to spring? What effect does it have on you?

One thought on “Lupus in the Spring

  1. Karin Irvin says:

    I am a mental health counselor (LPC) who lives with lupus. I’m still working with my doctor to manage it. Meds are tricky because of damage to my liver and kidneys. I would like to give a few tips on stress management that I use with my clients. First, aroma therapy is very useful. Lavender is a stress reliever as is vanilla. I encourage my clients to use lavender scent lightly, not oppressive, around their home or office via diffusers, air fresheners, etc. I use scentsy myself. I also recommend using lavender body wash and lightly scented body lotion. At the end of your day, when you can put your feet up, a minty foot lotion helps those joints relax. My most stressed and anxious clients have noticed a real difference when using this therapy.

    I also use guided imagery to great effect. One gets comfortable as possible (easier said than done I know) , dim the lights, and listen to soothing non-vocal music. It can include the sound of the beach, the lake, gentle rain etc. I take my clients on a journey to a relaxing place using a soft, soothing voice giving direction and describing our destination. It is extremely effective. One can find CDs that are prerecorded with guided imagery and stress relief to use at home. DO NOT use while driving! Amazon has a large selection as does ITunes.

    I know from experience it is hard to relax when in pain and muscle tension plus stress makes it that much worse. I have found that guided imagery helps me relax muscles I didn’t even know were tense. I am looking forward to finding the right medical treatment for me to combine with the relaxation therapy because I feel I will be able to get at least a portion of my life back. I hope this is helpful.

    Karin Irvin, MS, LPC

Leave a Reply

