Something new…. An interview!

The great thing about Lupus (agree or disagree, it’s however you feel) is that we are never alone. Just look at all the people from around the world that are on social media with the S.L.E. Foundation! It’s so wonderful that we don’t suffer by ourselves. For the first few years, while living with Lupus, I neglected the resources, closing my mind off to getting to know people who had Lupus. But, not anymore! Now, I am able to talk openly about my disease and look forward to hearing other stories about how wonderful we all are.

So, without further ado:

I am so excited to announce the first ever interview on TheLupusLoop!

Chelsea first emailed me a few months ago and as time went on (and we officially became Facebook friends) we decided to interview each other. I am so fortunate to have had the chance to speak with her and how she manages the disease, with twin girls nonetheless! She’s a blogger, at http://mommieandwee.org so make sure you check her out too! She’s always has amazing posts!

NAME: Chelsea Rowel

OCCUPATION: Catering and Sales Manager | Mommie | Blogger at Mommie and Wee

Lupus Loop: Can you tell me your brief Lupus history?

Chelsea: I was diagnosed with Lupus my freshman year of college, but I’m almost positive I had it long before then. In the beginning, I was able to keep it under control. It wasn’t until I was pregnant that I had my first ‘real’ flare up and was in the ICU for 3 weeks. Since then, I have been taking actions to keep it controlled, although it’s not as easy as it used to be. I have started a lifestyle blog to raise lupus awareness and donations to the ALR.

LL: WHEN YOU FOUND OUT YOU WERE PREGNANT, DID YOU HAVE TO CHANGE ANY OF YOUR LUPUS REGIMENES?

Chelsea: Yeah, I did, and I hated it! I had to decrease the amount of Prednisone I was taking, and I had to stop one of my medications all together. After I was in the ICU, I had to increase my Prednisone to levels higher than I was originally taking, and now I’m on 3 other medications. Boo…

LL: NOW, LIVING WITH YOUNG CHILDREN, DO YOU DO ANYTHING DIFFERENT FOR YOUR LUPUS?

Chelsea: I was blessed with twin girls! But, yes, my lupus treatment is much different. I am more aware of little changes that may take place in my body — basically my body is more sensitive to the lupus than it used to be. I’m taking more medications, and I am also educating myself more on the disease. Before, I just took it day by day, but now I want to be as prepared as I can be, since it not only affects me, but my hubby and baby girls as well.

LL: HOW DO YOU DEAL WITH FATIGUE AND OTHER LUPUS SYMPTOMS?

Chelsea: Honestly, I don’t. I try to put them off as much as I can. But, when I absolutely have to, I try to rest as much as possible. (Don’t follow my example!!) Just taking it easy can help so much. And! I always have to have a cup of hot tea if I’m not feeling my best. It somehow makes everything go away, just for a second or two.

LL: WHAT IS YOUR ADVICE TO THOSE WOMEN WHO ARE CURRENTLY PREGNANT OR WANT CHILDREN IN THE FUTURE?

Chelsea: My advice would be to take your condition into your own hands. Not everything the doctor may tell you is absolutely true. And, on the flip side, they may not tell you about everything that is to come. My doctor (at the time) urged me not to continue with my pregnancy. This was in the first trimester. If I would’ve listened to that ‘word of advice’ my beautiful girls would not be here today. Lupus does not have to hold you back from having children. Yes, it may make the journey a little bit harder, but you’re a Lupus Warrior. You can do it!

Also, you are definitely not alone. When I was pregnant, I was searching everywhere for advice and resources. I didn’t want to know the lupus symptoms and statistics that Google had to offer. I wanted to hear someone’s story! See how someone lived their life with Lupus, but that was no where to be found. If you are searching for this, feel free to check out the lupus page on my blog, or send me an email. I’d love to connect with you and hear your story!

LupUS affects US, but together WE are stronger!

Chelsea is a beautiful young woman who is so inspiring! Please take a look at her blog! If you have children, she gives the best advice for living with Lupus and children!

If you want to share your Lupus story, please send an email to allie.lupusloop@gmail.com! There will be features in the coming months!

XO

One thought on “Something new…. An interview!

  1. Shari says:

    Nice! Readng this made me feel a bit calmer about the topic pregnancy and lupus. Seeing that i would also love to have kids in the future but im scared. Looking forward to more interviews! 🙂

Leave a Reply

